Metro’s first Youth Council term ends with many highlights 

On Saturday, December 3, Metro’s First Youth Council ended their one-year term with a celebration at Union Station’s Ticket Concourse. The Youth Council is made up of 27 students representing the nine sub-regions of L.A. County, The day highlighted their participation in various programs and initiatives in which they provided their perspectives as younger riders.   

We are very proud of the Youth Council and the work they have done over the last year, which included:  

  • Organized a Youth Rail Safety Tour . 
  • Organized Metro’s First Youth Summit.  
  • Created the Go Pass Task Force to increase awareness of the program within their school. 
  • Participated in key Metro events, including the State of the Agency and K-Line Station Dedications.
  • Publicized two Youth Council articles on The Source; the articles are here and here
  • Provided input on the 2022 Quality of Life Equity Report.
  • Provided input on Metro’s Budget Tool.  
  • Participated in a Vermont Transit Corridor Project workshop. 
  • Advocated for social media pages to be used like TikTok and Instagram to reach youth.  
  • Recommended a Youth Council Tik Tok or Instagram page be developed.
  • Participated in a Metro Bystander Training.

Metro looks forward to working with these youth for years to come as they become new transit leaders and lifelong transit riders. In January we will announce and welcome the 2023 Youth Council members, who will then begin their yearlong engagement with Metro on projects, programs and initiatives.   

Metro Youth Council 2022

  • Allen Yamin 
  • Amir King 
  • Brian Medrano 
  • Caroline Nicho 
  • Catherine Elizabeth Chan 
  • Christian Recinos 
  • Chris Jun 
  • Evan Wilson 
  • Farrah Eshaghian 
  • Himansi Gupta 
  • Iris De Leon 
  • Jayviel Magdaleno 
  • Johntaye Hines 
  • Juliana Domingo 
  • Noah Suboc 
  • Orisha Lamon 
  • Paisley Grutter 
  • Paul Holland-Smith 
  • Pauleth Nava 
  • San Ly 
  • Sheyla Aviles 
  • Treyvon Hale 
  • Ulysses Spencer 
  • Wilmer Roblero