L.A. County Supervisor Lindsey Horvath joins Metro Board

Newly elected Los Angeles County Supervisor Lindsey P. Horvath has become the newest member of the Metro Board of Directors, representing the county’s Third District. She replaces former Metro Board member Sheila Kuehl, who served on the Board since 2014.

Supervisor Horvath was elected to the Board of Supervisors on November 8, 2022, and assumed office on December 5, 2022, after serving West Hollywood as a City Councilmember and the longest consecutively serving Mayor.

Supervisor Horvath has made history as being the youngest woman to ever be elected to the Board of Supervisors and she has a long history of civic and social justice advocacy.

She has worked on a broad range of transportation and mobility issues, from her service as a Transportation Commissioner to championing Metro rail projects in the district. She initiated the West Hollywood Bicycle Task Force that resulted in West Hollywood being named “the Most Walkable” city in the entire state.

In addition to her duties as a Metro Board Member, Horvath will also serve as a committee member on Metro’s Construction Committee and Operations, Safety, and Customer Experience Committees. The Construction committee oversees construction of Metro’s infrastructure projects, while Operations, Safety and Customer Experience committee oversees bus and rail operations, safety of the system and improving the customer experience.

Horvath has also spearheaded policies to make West Hollywood an “Age-Friendly Community” to better serve residents of all ages and created the first-ever West Hollywood Community Response Team to Domestic Violence.

“As the Mayor of West Hollywood, Supervisor Horvath demonstrated, time and again, her commitment to building a more walkable and transit friendly community, said Stephanie Wiggins, CEO of Metro. “I’m excited for the opportunity to work closely with her in the years ahead to improve mobility for all Angelenos.”

The 13-member Board of Directors is comprised of the five Los Angeles County Supervisors, four members appointed by the Los Angeles County City Selection Committee and the Mayor of Los Angeles, and three members appointed by the Mayor of Los Angeles. The position of Board Chair rotates between the three groups. The District 7 Director of the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) also serves on the board as a non-voting member.

For more information about the Metro Board of Directors, visit https://www.metro.net/about/board-administration/.