Metro Board approves selection of Paul Rajmaira to Measure M Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee; two vacancies need to be filled

The Metro Board of Directors on Thursday approved the appointment of Paul Rajmaira to serve on the Measure M Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee.The committee was formed following the approval of Measure M in 2016 to monitor and ensure that all tax measure revenues are spent for transportation purposes.Paul Rajmaira is currently a Commercial Manager on the LAX Automated People Mover Project within Fluor’s infrastructure business line. Paul has 22 years of diverse experience in project management, operations, sales, contract management, finance, and risk management. He fills a recent vacant position on the committee and has large-scale construction project expertise.There are currently two additional vacancies remaining on the seven-member committee with applications now being accepted to fill those vacancies as soon as possible. Metro is specifically looking for committee members that represent the following professions or areas of expertise:Retired State JudgeMunicipal/Public Finance/BudgetCurrent committee members:Richard Stanger – Transit (Operations & Labor Practices) ProfessionalRyan Campbell – Financial Policies, Performance Measurements and ReviewsVirginia Tanzmann – Licensed Architect or EngineerLinda Briskman – Business RepresentativePaul Rajmaira – Management of Large-Scale Construction ProjectsGeneral responsibilities of the Independent Taxpayer Oversight Committee include approving the scope of work and directing the work of auditors. Preparing an annual report on the results of the annual audit, including any findings, and reporting the comments to the Metro Board, reviewing all proposed debt financing, and making a finding on whether the benefits of the proposed financing for accelerating project delivery, avoiding future cost escalation, and related factors exceed issuance and interest costs, reviewing any proposed amendments to the Ordinance, including the Expenditure Plan, and making a finding.Interested members must reside in Los Angeles County and will be subject to conflict-of-interest provisions. No person currently serving as an elected or appointed city, county, special district, state, or federal public officeholder shall be eligible to serve as a member of the committee.The term of the appointment is five years with no limit on the number of terms that can be served. A stipend of $100 per meeting will be provided. The committee meets virtually four times a year. The deadline to apply is November 30, 2022. Metro will appoint new members through January 1, 2023.LA County voters approved Measure M with 71.15% support in 2016. The half-cent sales tax measure funds projects to ease traffic, repair local streets and sidewalks, expand public transportation, earthquake retrofit bridges and subsidize transit fares for students, seniors and persons with disabilities.For more information on how to submit an application to participate in this committee, please visit